Website Updated: 10/22/2017
We ship within the U.S. only (if needed)

JC Aviary 

Austin, TX

Customer Testimonials

Jennifer Von Scurlock

09/26/2017


"Once upon a time there was a young girl who longed for a parrot to call her own. This young girl grew up, did much researched and learned it would take a lot of work before she could have this majestic creature. The bird required time, patience, love, expensive cages, food and toys…so she waited until the timing was right, when she could offer her future parrot these things and more.


Finally, in July of 2017 the timing was right. She had done her research and learned about an exemplary aviary in Austin Texas. The reviews were excellent, the parrots were healthy and the breeder had one blue and gold macaw chick left. She contacted the breeder and was received by the most personable, compassionate and passionately enthusiastic bird lover she’d ever met. The breeder was Joe and taught her how to hand feed her new baby macaw and led her step by step through the process of becoming a macaw mom.

The day she met her little feathered bundle of joy was one of the best in her life. This baby was happy, healthy, curious, loving and gentle. It was apparent there was an incredible bond between Joe and the baby bird. Right before the lady took her bird home, Joe hugged the bird goodbye and whispered, “I will miss you.”


The new macaw mom and the breeder exchanged information and pictures as the baby, now called Cozmo or (Cawzy for short) acclimated to his new home and way of life. Cozmo adjusted brilliantly and loved everyone he met. He was never frightened and was praised for his beauty and disposition by everyone, including avian vets. His care in the beginning of his life made him a joyful, inquisitive and pleasant bird.


Cozmo and his bird mom are off to a great start. She adores him, especially Cawzy cuddle time—which is in the evenings when he gets tired and lays on his back upside down in her lap with his little foot in his mouth. They spend their days together playing and learning and, of course eating, Cozmo has a voracious appetite and loves homemade fruit cups. He’s beginning to talk and at six months old can already say I love you, mom-mom, ohh la la, and nighty night.


Joe has been incredible. He raises baby birds because he loves them. This is not a profession for him, this is a calling. He’s the best in the business and does a phenomenal job! I’ve never seen birds more well-adjusted, better-dispositioned, healthier or more cared for. My hat is off to Joe and I thank him from the bottom of my heart for taking such wonderful care of my little guy. Cawzy is not my pet-- he is my family.


Sincerely,

Cozmo’s Mom

(Jennifer Von Scurlock)

Columbus, Ohio"

Tori Switzer

07/13/2017


"My mother wanted a Green Cheek Conure, but there were no (good) breeders or shops nearby that we were particularly keen on. I came across JC Aviary thanks to some careful online researching. I've adopted animals long distance before, but since I live in Pennsylvania, Texas was a bit of a stretch. I was leery of not being able to check the place out in person. So I was all over the internet, reading reviews and checking sources; I also pestered the staff with frequent calls and texts as I tried to feel the place out. Well, if I ever decide to get another bird from there, that will no longer be necessary, as I knew the moment I picked the conure up from the airport that I made the right decision.


Poncho is a happy, healthy bird with a HUGE personality. He likes music and hanging upside down from the top of his cage. I heard that it wasn't uncommon for birds to refuse food for the first few days in a new home, but I guess those worries were for nothing as well, since he's been eating nonstop. Remarkably I had already picked up the same brand and type of food he was sent with long before his flight.


I also liked the box he came in. It was sturdy and roomy. A couple came in at the same time to pick up a dog shipped from Missouri, and the bird's carrier was actually bigger! From my own experience, JC Aviary's birds are alert and easily adaptable to new surroundings. They are well socialized and definitely worth the money. I'd recommend this place to anybody."

Tori Savelli

07/13/2017


"After several months of research for breeders, we found JC Aviary. With all of the amazing reviews, we knew we were in great hands when we purchased our baby parrotlet. When we picked him up he was already socialized and so sweet. Joe was so amazing in providing us all the information we could possibly need in taking care of our baby and answering any questions we had. Our vet even knew about JC Aviary and knew Joe was one of the best breeders around. If you are looking for a reputable breeder that not only cares for the birds, but his clients as well, then you have come to the right place! Thank you so much again to JC Aviary for giving us our beautiful baby!"

Cees Vandiver

07/03/2017


"Joe and the folks at JC Aviary are amazing! Not only are their birds beautiful and expertly raised to make great companions, but the level of service really makes you feel like you're a valued customer. They're also one of the only breeders that posts all their available birds—and pricing!!—on their website (so my mind is a little boggled by the amount of questions they get about pricing...)


I had a lot of questions and special requests, and Joe was very friendly and accommodating about all of it. My birds were shipped to me in California in a sturdy crate, and arrived happy and healthy with all their paperwork, care instructions, and some extra food—super impressive. I highly recommend JC Aviary!"

Carol Mclendon

07/01/2017


"I received my new Indian ringneck about 2 weeks ago and have been extremely happy with him. I was very impressed with the shipping and quality of the crate in which JC Aviary sent him. I am so happy that I am currently placing a deposit on a Macaw and have every conidence it will be a well raised sweetheart and looking forward to another member of the family. I highly recommend Joe and his business for anyone interested in bird companions."

Annamarie Herrera 

06/20/2017


"We bought our male Eclectus, Mojito, from JC Aviary when he was only 3 months old. He's coming in on 5 months now and he's the best pet we could have ever asked for. Joe was so helpful and reliable in the process of buying our baby and making sure we were well prepared to handle and wean him. And he still continues to be available if we have any questions. Our baby Eclectus came to us very well behaved, friendly, and easy to handle. You can tell JC Aviary really cares about their babies. Even when we went to pick up our Eclectus, we could see how well Joe handled him and how much love he gave him. We would most definitely refer to JC Aviary again to buy another baby! Many thanks to Joe and JC Aviary for the special addition to our family!"

Ruby Cunniff 

06/13/2017


"We adopted a baby Goffin cockatoo. Joe made the purchase transaction very easy for us, as we lived 6 hours away. We drove down and picked her up and were amazed at how loveable our little cupcake was. We were given all information printed out on what food she was eating and the care that should be given. My vet was highly impressed as well. Anyone looking to adopt a baby bird, jc aviary is the one you should be looking at. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR BLESSING US WITH OUR MUCH LOVED CUPCAKE..."


Bailey Brown - Springfield, Missouri

06/04/2017


"I purchased a green baby Indian Ringneck from JC Aviary and am so happy with her! Joe was wonderful to communicate with and was very willing to coordinate payment and a convenient shipping date. I was nervous about having my baby shipped, but she arrived healthy and safe, and I was impressed with the care that went into her shipping container. She's about the friendliest/most hand tame IRN baby I have ever met, and it's obvious how much time Joe spends with his babies. Thank you JC Aviary, I will be using you again when it's time for us to add to our family!"

Amy O'Brien - Wernersville, PA

05/17/2017


"Extremely pleased with my new Sun Conure, Rigby. Rigby is very social and friendly, eats very well and has eased into our daily routine. Very impressed with the shipping crate, the info sent along and the health of the baby, even the vet was impressed! When I'm ready for my next bird, there is no other aviary I will consider! Thank you!"

Mary MillwardNew Iberia, Louisiana

05/16/2017


"We had an amazing experience purchasing our new baby with Jc aviary. They are very knowledgeable and truly care for the well being of their birds. Top notch breeder, we totally recommend them to anyone looking for a healthy, social, friendly bird."

Henry Troche-Smith

05/10/2017


"Got our beautiful Cherry Head Conure for JC Aviary. Very professional and even helped us after we were home with her. She is everything to us."

Joemar Villalon 

05/08/2017


"I love my Indian Ringneck! She is very sweet even though she's new to me. It's obvious she gotten a lot of human socialization when she was young. She has not accepted me as her new owner but that's okay it will take a little while. JC Aviary provided me a lot of information I will need in taking care of her. Looking forward to owning another bird from them!"

Christiane Duprey - Houston, TX

05/05/2017


"We love our sun conure "Pepper". He's just a joy! When we picked him up he was already sweet and potty trained! Totally recommend this place and should we decide to get a buddy for Pepper this is where we'll get the next birdie from. The drive from Houston is absolutely worth it! Xoxo"

Katie Gahagan - Pelham, NY

04/25/2017


"We love our half-moon conure! We picked him up from the airport and were very impressed with the carrier and food he was sent with. He came to us well socialized and already loves to cuddle with us. We took him to the vet to make sure he was all good, and she was impressed by his friendly and sweet demeanor as well how not hand shy he is. She also said that he is a very healthy bird. I would use JC Aviary again in a heart beat!"

Dana Dybdal-Hargreaves - San Antonio, TX

04/12/2017


"We had a great experience with JC Aviary! Our little Turquoise Green Cheek Conure came to us healthy, happy and very sweet! Joe was always available an answer our many questions, and has done an outstanding job of keeping in touch with us in the past few months since our little Bungie has been home with us. I would highly recommend JC Aviary to anyone looking for a new little birdie friend!"

Nat Hooper 

04/09/2017


"Brought home my Turquoise Green Cheek Conure today! Joe was great through the entire process. Through his social media updates and updates through emails I couldn't ask for anything more when purchasing my baby. The quality bird and how friendly she is amazes me. My baby barely knows me and immediately reaches out to me to step up. Very well socialized birds! If your looking for a place to purchase your bird, I highly recommend JC Aviary!


Thank again!

Nat"

Sherry Seidenberger 

04/08/2017


"I got my baby Conure from these guys! They are curtious, professional, and raised a sweet baby for us! Would definitely recommend JC Avairy!"

Ashley Campbell Strong - Idaho

03/10/2017


"Where do I start, My name Ashley and I am from a very small town in Idaho. I have had birds my whole life and have been around them since I was just a little girl. When my grandmother passed away it became nearly impossible to find the help I needed for bringing in a new feathered baby in to our home. Since she raised and knew everyone who raised birds. There are wonderful parrot store with in hours of our town but its very hard for these shops to even get hand raised babies in right now. You then are placed on waiting lists. I was so very nervous to even look on line and even more nervous to ship a baby. Then I came across JC Aviary. I sat on it over night before calling and said a little prayer it was the route I was supposed to take. The minute I talked with Joe I felt great about it all. I had already done a lot of research about the Green Cheek Conures and how wonderful they are as a family pet. That being my biggest concern since I have small young children who LOVE birds more then I think I even do. :) Anyways long story short, We received our sweet Yellowsided GCC and What an amazing easy process it was picking her up from the airport. I had never done this so I was extremely nervous but she had the nicest travel box. Filled with lots of food and fresh fruits. All her paperwork and checklists, certificates, and even extra food and feed for her. Our sweet girl is a doll. Tuki is her name and she is so dang sweet and smart. She is not afraid or skitish of loud noises (with having small kids) She is content with all of us and just wants to be apart of all of us already. Im so thankful and so happy I found JC Aviary. My Grandmother would be proud and definitely give me the thumbs up for all Joes hard work with his babies. I really recommend JC Aviary if you are looking for a new feathered family member. :)

- Ashley "

Sandra Tipton - Austin, TX

02/17/2017


"We visited JC Aviary on January 2 to look at their Eclectus babies, we fell in love with a 4 month old baby, and took him home that day. The owner Joe was so helpful with information about the breed and care for the bird. He checks in regularly to see how our baby is adjusting to his new home, and has been helpful whenever we have questions. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is interested in quality birds"

Willi Dinon - Queen Creek, AZ

01/25/2017


" Just received my baby African Gray Congo parrot. What a delight! He is 12 weeks old. Still hand feeding him. He is extremely tamed even knows how to "step up" Thanks to the team at JC Aviary. The team at the Aviary especially Joe was amazing. He was so helpful being I'm new to parrots. He walked me through the whole process from start to finish. The payment method was stress free. Picking him up at the airport was a breeze. He came in a carrier along with spoon, syringe and food for his long flight home. His hatch certificate was included along with all pertinent info. Oh, yes, he even provided a video showing me how to feed my new baby. Over the top experience. If you're thinking of purchasing a parrot don't hesitate for a moment to contact JC Aviary in Texas."

Jessica Lillis Estenson - Chaska, MN

01/23/2017


"We have adopted all three of our macaws from JC Aviary because we have been extremely happy with each of our birds. Additionally, anytime I had a question or concern regarding the birds, JC Aviary was willing to help me without any hesitation. My family and I can tell that he truly loved, and nurtured these birds while in his care because upon receiving each one, they were the most loving, and sweet birds we could have ever asked for. In the future, if we decide to add another addition to our family, we will definitely be coming back to JC Aviary. No question. I wouldn't trust anyone else."

Noah Hascall - Taylor, TX 

01/12/2017 


"I have owned birds of all sizes since I was 10 years old, I have dealt with the best and worst of breeders. I can honestly say without any hesitation these people are the BEST breeders/people/loving souls that I have ever encountered in the bird trade!!! 


Joe and his family are always available if you have any questions, they are an endless supply of knowledge with over 30 years in the field!  Not only do they answer any questions, but they actually love hearing about the babies once they are placed in your home! I am in contact with them on a weekly basis, providing updates and pictures that are placed on the website, and they truly care about all of the babies that were in their care!!


We have three macaws from them, we have Remi a Blue and Gold, Kimber a Greenwing, and Colt a baby Military who is 17 weeks right now! I spent months looking for a breeder I could trust, completely disregarded multiple ones after a short conversation on the phone, but once I talked to joe I knew they would be the breeder I used from that day forward!!!


If you have any hesitations, I recommend just talking to these people and they will put you at ease and you will never regret your choice to get a baby from them!!!!"

Darryl Mclver - Nashville, TN

01/08/2017


"I purchased my Eleanora Cockatoo in September 16 from Joe. I was apprehensive about buying online, however the experience was great. He arrived as scheduled in perfect condition. Had many questions about handfeeding and Joe always answered quickly."

Catherine Herndon 

Corpus Christi, TX - 01/03/2017


Instagram: @remythegreyt


"I'm so happy I purchased my African Grey from JC Aviary.  They delivered to me about 3 hours away. They spent time explaining everything I needed to know about transitioning the baby into my home.  You can tell they take care of their babies.  Our Grey is so sweet and tame.  He already knows how to step up.  He's so smart and loves to cuddle.  He's beautiful.  Worth every penny."

Stacy Stanfill - Lakeway, TX  08/24/2016

"I highly recommend Joe at JC Aviary. What a fabulous experience from start to finish. I purchased my sweet baby African Grey from Joe and was so impressed with his constant communication to me from her birth going forward. He was always there to assist me in any questions I might have. She is the sweetest baby, very socialized, and already starting to talk at five months old.. JC Aviary breeds the highest quality birds you will find and they maintain the highest integrity with their customers. I highly recommend JC Aviary to anyone looking for a healthy, well established and socialized bird. BEST EVER!!! Thank you to Joe and the entire family for being so great to us."

Emily Flynn - Eben Junction, MI

8/10/2016


"Great people to deal with! would email me back right away with any questions I had. We got a Sun Conure from them and Sunny is an amazing healthy bird! very friendly right from the beginning!!! You can really tell they care about their birds!"

Megan Rodriguez - Austin, TX 

08/02/2016


"A great breeder with the most beautiful and well tempered birds I've seen thus far. This was my first purchase from them and my first parrot and it was an easy, comfortable and low stress experience. My new pineapple green cheek conure is not only sweet as can be but in the peak of health. If and when I get another member of the flock I will certainly be back- everything from their big macaws and African grays to their conures and Quakers seem happy and healthy."

Laura Reany - Ridge, NY  

05/13/2016


"Joe and his team were absolutely amazing to deal with. After much research when my parent's African Grey passed away, I found JC Aviary. He was wonderful and extremely easy to contact and speak to whenever I had a question. It was a very easy decision to choose him to get our baby from. Macy has been a wonderful addition to my parents' home and has acclimated very well due to Joe's loving and caring hands. I would highly recommend JC Aviary to anyone interested in purchasing a baby bird. Thank you so much !!!! :):)"

Lauren A. - Novato, CA 

 03/24/2016


"I had a great experience with JC Aviary!  I purchased my baby female Eclectus from them (have had her now for almost 2 weeks) and am in love! They were very prompt at answering questions I had leading up to the shipping day and after - follow up making sure she is doing ok in her new home and answering any questions I had. I can tell they genuinely care about their babies which is comforting and important! My baby is already trained to step up, potty trained, eating well, and is very sweet. I love her!"

Erik Starr - Flower Mound, TX

01/17/2016


"STOP!! Don't buy a bird anywhere else but from JC aviary. Joe and his family are the best breeder we have ever used. We bought our latest bird a green wing macaw from Joe. I looked from Florida to California and Joe & his animal and    service best A++"

Ally Ortiz - El Paso, TX

01/15/2016


"JC Aviary was so helpful & informative when we were gathering information before purchasing and upon arrival you could tell that the birds were loved! My husband and I are very happy with our baby Camelot Gizmo! Thank you again!"

Deanna Scott - Medina, WA

12/28/2015


"Truly the best experience. I purchased two Elenora cockatoo babies. I was shown everything I needed to know on how to take care of these babies. They truly care so much for you and placing the birds in the best home possible."

Jared Nally - Denver, CO

10/27/2015


"My Greater Vasa is such an enjoyable pet. Joe was great to work with. He takes excellent care of his birds and has blessed me with a wonderful new family member. I couldn't be happier!"

Katelyn Harger - Port Lavaca, TX  09/13/2015


Instagram: @tizbarbiebtch


"I purchased a beautiful baby umbrella cockatoo from JC Aviary & I love that baby bird so much! JC Aviary is super helpful! any questions or concerns or anything you need they will help you out & even check in periodically! Recommend :)"

Christa "Veronica Corningstone" H.
 Austin, TX - 07/25/2015

"I purchased a baby african grey from them and had such a wonderful experience. They really do a fantastic job hand raising the babies. He was eating very well on his own before I picked him up. What impressed me so much was how well adjusted this bird was. He isn't scared of things, he was really well socialized after I brought him home. I was afraid the trip to a new home might be really scary for this bird, but seeing how he adjusted so quickly; just showed me how well taken care of he was before I got him. He is the sweetest and most tame little guy. 

They were extremely thorough at going over how to care for him when I picked him up, even to the point of making sure I knew how to syringe feed him should I need to (which I never did have to) but they want to make sure you are going to care for their birds. They covered nutrition with me, and even had a little cage to take him home in. I highly recommend them if you are considering any of their birds. When I had him checked out at the vet, I brought all my paper work with me they provided, and even the vet was impressed with the literature they gave me at their dietary recommendations. She said, they are doing it right. 

Great experience from start to finish :)"

Tarra Raby - Leesville, LA

07/11/2015


"I drove a total of 12 hours to get my baby Sun Conure Chibi, she was eating fruits and veggies already and is the friendliest bird I've ever had. She lives everyone she meets. Joe is the perfect breeder, very kind and knowledgable. I love my baby!!"